Post major revitalization works conducted in 2020, this 52-hectare area constitutes a unique spot in the city of Zielona Góra. The palace was built in 1689 by the former owner of the Zatoń estate - Balthazar von Unruh - in the form of a baroque manor. In 1842-1843, the palace was altered in a classicist fashion. These works were ordered by the Żagań duchess Dorota de Talleyrand-Périgord who moved in here in the ‘40s of the XIX century. The most prominent period of the palace history falls on the residence of the duchess in the manor.
The palace hosted concerts of a composer - Franciszek Liszt - and it is very likely that one of the evenings was devoted to the performance of Fryderyk Chopin himself. Moreover, King Prus Fryderyk Wilhelm IV with his wife visited the duchess. Dorota Tayllerand was considered to be a true philanthropist and a passionate fan of culture. Both cultural and political life of those times circled around her two properties, in Zatoń and in Żagań. The palace with gardens was burnt down by the Red Army in 1945.